Is Shellfish Halal for Muslims in Islam?

Islam is the only religion that tells the truth about what is halal and what is haram to eat, including seafood. The Islamic ruling on Shellfish consumption has been debated by Muslim scholars for centuries. The Quran only forbids certain types of seafood.

Being a Muslim, it is necessary to take care of their faith. That is why Muslims should always be concerned before eating anything.

There are many topics for discussion about halal and haram. Today, we’ve written this article for those who get stuck before eating Shellfish. Is Shellfish halal in Islam?

Shellfish is one of the most consumable seafoods worldwide. They are nutritious and tasty. The question is whether shellfish is a nutritious seafood. Are shellfish halal and haram for Muslims to eat?

Many people argue that certain types of shellfish are halal in Islam. Others consider shellfish not halal in Islam.

You don’t need to worry about the conclusion. We read all the interpretations of all the Muslim scholars when we wrote this article.

After reading this article, you will know the truth behind shellfish halal in Islam. You will also learn what Islamic scholars say about this debatable topic.

What Is Shellfish?

Shellfish include crustaceans and mollusks, and these species do not all have a backbone; the body of shellfish has a harder exoskeleton to protect their softness.

If we think about specific shellfish, then some of the examples following are: 

  • Crustaceans: shrimp, prawns, crabs, lobsters, crayfish
  • Mollusks: clams, oysters, mussels, scallops, snails, squid, octopus
  • Echinoderms: sea urchins, sea cucumbers

Shellfish are also good sources of protein, omega-3 fatty acids, and other nutrients. People cooked the shellfish in different ways.There are many kinds of shellfish. They harvest most from saltwater environments.

Is Shellfish halal or haram?

No, we cannot consider shellfish halal in Islam. There are many different opinions on eating shellfish.

According to the Hanafi school of Islam, shellfish are not lawful. This is because shellfish are not explicitly mentioned as being halal in the Quran or Sunnah.

The scholar argues that shellfish are not halal. They are raised in polluted water. This could harm health. They also believe shellfish should not be eaten if not slaughtered according to Islamic law.

Is Shellfish halal for muslims?

According to the Shafi’i, Maliki, and Hanabali schools of thought, the majority of Islamic schools consider shellfish halal to eat. They consider all fish and shellfish halal, and Muslims can eat them.

They also took the references of these holy Quran verses.

أُحِلَّ لَكُمْ صَيْدُ الْبَحْرِ وَطَعَامُهُ مَتَاعًا لَّكُمْ وَلِلسَّيَّارَةِ ۖ

Lawful to you is the game from the sea and its food as provision for you and the travellers…”

They consider these holy Quran verses for all sea creatures, including shellfish such as shrimp, prawns, crabs, lobsters, and crayfish.

Is Shellfish halal hanafi?

According to the Hanafi school of Islam, they consider shellfish not lawful. Shellfish are not explicitly mentioned as being halal in the Quran or Sunnah.

The scholar argues that shellfish are not halal. They say the shellfish are raised in polluted water. This could render them harmful to health.

Is Shellfish halal sistani?

According to Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani, shellfish are not halal. They are not allowed to eat them. They believe Fish that have scales are halal. Other types of Fish are haram.

Is Shellfish halal sunni?

In Sunni tradition, there are four Islamic schools of thought: the Hanafi, Shafi’i, Maliki, and Hanbali.

According to the Hanafi school of Islam, they consider shellfish not lawful. This is because shellfish are not explicitly mentioned as being halal in the Quran or Sunnah.

The Shafi’i, Maliki, and Hanbali schools of thought consider all fish and shellfish halal. Muslims can eat them.

Why eat Shellfish?

Shellfish are good sources of protein, omega-3 fatty acids, and other nutrients. People cooked the shellfish in different ways. There are many kinds of shellfish. People harvest most of them from saltwater.

FAQ’s About Shellfish

Why Is Eating Shellfish Consider a Sin?

Eating shellfish is not considered a sin. However, Muslim scholars have different opinions on eating shellfish.

Do Hindus Eat Shellfish?

There are no compulsions on kinds of seafood so some Hindus may eat shellfish.

Why Is Shellfish Haram for Jews But halal for muslims?

Shellfish not lawful for muslims, because shellfish are not explicitly mentioned as being halal in the Quran or Sunnah.

Is It halal to eat Shellfish

The Shafi’i, Maliki, and Hanbali schools of thought consider shellfish halal to eat. This applies to the majority of Islamic schools. They consider all fish and shellfish halal, and Muslims can eat them.

Conclusion

Ultimately, the turtle’s halal status depends on your Islamic school. The Hanafi school of Islam considers shellfish not lawful. This is because shellfish are not explicitly mentioned as being halal in the Quran or Sunnah.

We have covered all the thoughts of Islamic schools about Shellfish. Now, the main concern is what we should follow. Allah SWT makes many things halal for eating. We can eat them without any doubt. So why should we eat food that is doubtful in Islam? Allah Know the best.

Allah says in the holy Quran: “… Allah intends for you ease, and He does not want to make things difficult for you…” [al-Baqarah 2:185]

Sharing Is Sadaqah Jariyah:
Adil Khan

Hi, I am a Muslim and I love researching and gathering info on how to live life according to Islam. I along with my team created this website to help fellow Muslims like me who are searching for islamic info on the internet.

Leave a Comment